News Generators

Here are two free digital tools I really like and can see using in my classes next year.  First, the Newspaper Clipping Generator.  My students used this when we were reading the novella The Metamorphosis.  The assignment was to imagine what a reporter would have written had he/she heard about a person mysteriously changed into a vermin.  The old-timey look of the clippings went better with this story than, say, something like looks like cable TV news.  I blended some of their clippings into a collage, pictured below.

Along the same lines, I just read about this one yesterday: Breaking News Generator.  I haven’t used it in class yet because my students are out for the summer (!!!), but I made one about myself to celebrate my grades being done!

Both of these are web-based and work perfectly fine on iPads.  As always, I love tools that are free, require no logins/passwords/sign-ups, and will download something right to the camera roll that can later be submitted in Classroom or in a student’s digital portfolio.

ETA: Don’t forget about this text-message generator, this fake tweet generator, this fake ticket generator, and BigHugeLabs makes magazine covers you can smash into something else!

FullSizeRender (34)

News Generators

One thought on “News Generators

Leave a comment